The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Mysteries of the Rosary
A Rosary is five decades of one set of Mysteries. There are a total of four sets: The Glorious, The Joyful, The Sorrowful and The Luminous. All twenty Mysteries are said in a “full Rosary” . Here is a brief description of each.

The Glorious Mysteries
* The Resurrection: Jesus rises from the dead.
* The Ascension: Jesus leaves the Apostles and bodily “ascends” to heaven.
* The Descent of the Holy Spirit: The Apostles receive the Holy Spirit in tongues of fire in the upper room with Mary.
* The Assumption: Mary is taken bodily–assumed–into heaven by God at the end of her life here on earth.
* The Coronation: Mary is crowned Queen of Heaven and Earth.

The Joyful Mysteries
* The Annunciation: The Archangel Gabriel “announces” to Mary that she shall conceive the Son of God.
* The Visitation: Mary visits her cousin Elizabeth, who is pregnant with John the Baptist.
* The Nativity: Jesus is born.
* The Presentation: Mary and Joseph “present” Jesus in the Temple where they meet Simeon.
* The Finding in the Temple: After losing Him, Mary and Joseph find young Jesus teaching the Rabbis in the Temple.

The Sorrowful Mysteries
* The Agony in the Garden: Jesus sweats water and blood while praying the night before his passion.
* The Scourging at the Pillar: Pilate has Jesus whipped.
* The Crowning with Thorns: Roman soldiers crown Jesus’ head with thorns.
* The Carrying of the Cross: Jesus meets His mother and falls three times on the way up Calvary.
* The Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies before His mother and His apostle John.

The Luminous Mysteries
* The Baptism in the Jordan: The voice of the Father declares Jesus the beloved Son.
* The Wedding at Cana: Christ changes water into wine, his first public miracle.
* The Proclamation of the Kingdom: Jesus calls to conversion and forgives the sins of all who draw near to him.
* The Transfiguration: The glory of the Godhead shines forth from the face of Christ.
* The Institution of the Eucharist: Jesus offers the first Mass at the Last Supper with his apostles, establishing the sacramental foundation for all Christian living.

The Schedule of the Mysteries
Sunday – Glorious
Monday – Joyful
Tuesday – Sorrowful
Wednesday – Glorious
Thursday – Luminous
Friday – Sorrowful
Saturday – Joyful